Home: CBC.caCBC RadioCBC TelevisionLocal Become a member Sign in
British Columbia Votes 2005,  Voting Day May 17, 2005
BC Legislature

Election Colombie-britannique 2005
Main > Districts  
Results are not official until Elections BC has reviewed the results, which usually takes several days.
Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Gregor Robertson NDP 9905 46.2% X
Virginia Greene LIB 9339 43.56%
Hamdy El-Rayes GRN 1937 9.03%
Patrick G. Clark SEX 95 0.44%
Scott Yee IND 86 0.4%
Malcolm Janet van Delst WLP 78 0.36%
 Last Update:  May 18, 12:50:23 AM PDT 138 of 155 polls reporting


2005 Candidates (as received from Elections B.C.):

  • Malcolm Janet Mary van Delst, Work Less Party
  • Hamdy El-Rayes, Green Party of BC
  • Virginia Greene, BC Liberal Party
  • Gregor Robertson, New Democratic Party of B.C.
  • Scott Yee, Independent

Zoom in on Vancouver-Fairview

Maps from Elections B.C.
will open in a new window.

Districts Profile:

This riding, just south of downtown Vancouver, is bordered on the north by False Creek, on the east by Main Street, on the south in part by 33rd Avenue, and on the west in part by Arbutus Street. Vancouver General Hospital and Shaughnessy Hospital are here, as are countless small businesses along Broadway, Main, Granville and Oak streets. The area includes the wealthy Shaughnessy neighbourhood, high-density Fairview and False Creek, and South Cambie. Nearly two-thirds of residents are renters. At $83,463, this riding has the province's seventh-highest average family income, while unemployment is the eight-lowest: 5.6 per cent. As well, B.C.'s third-largest proportion of university graduates is here, comprising 42.8 per cent of the population. Immigrants account for 33 per cent of residents; people of Chinese origin are nearly 27 per cent.

Political History:

This seat is currently vacant, due to the December 2004 resignation of Liberal finance minister Gary Collins. In 2001 Collins beat Green Party challenger Vanessa Violini by more than a 2-to-1 margin. In 1996 Collins, formerly the incumbent from Fort Langley-Aldergrove, defeated New Democrat Margaret Birrell here by 2,646 votes. Preceding him was the NDP's Tom Perry, who won office in 1991 by beating Liberal Michael Stebner. Before that, this area was in the old riding of Vancouver-Little Mountain, a two-member district. MLAs included Socreds Grace McCarthy and Leslie Peterson through the 1960s, New Democrats Phyllis Young and Roy Cummings from 1972-75, McCarthy again and fellow Socred Even Wolfe from 1975-83, and McCarthy and Socred Doug Mowatt from 1983-91.

In 2001, the voter turnout in Vancouver-Fairview was 64.2 per cent – the fifth lowest in the province.



District Profiles

 Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
LIB 46 0 46 46.03%
NDP 33 0 33 41.27%
GRN 0 0 0 9.11%
DR 0 0 0 .84%
OTH 0 0 0 2.76%
 Last Update June 1, 5:11:20 PM PDT



Jobs | Contact Us | Help | RSS
Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2005