30 Student Reporters Offered $1000 Scholarship

CBC Vancouver announces the 30 finalists for News Day in B.C. 

February 15, 2013 - VANCOUVER, British Columbia - After competing with more than 150 students for a coveted spot as a CBC News Day in B.C. student reporter, the final 30 have been selected.  All 30 finalists will receive a $1000 education scholarship from Sylvan Learning.

Students auditioned over two days at the CBC Broadcast Centre, where they pitched their stories on camera at the CBC news desk. "There are some really unique story ideas this year," says Johnny Michel, managing director of CBC British Columbia. "In addition to quality pitches, we looked for students who were clear in their messaging and also students with a fun personality. We feel honoured to mentor and guide this intelligent crop of students towards reporting several new and provocative issues to the public."

The final 30 student reporters are:

Afiq Hisham - Killarney Secondary, Vancouver
Alex Kostas - Enver Creek Secondary, Surrey
Amrit Gill - Pinetree Secondary, Coquitlam
Amy Du - Vancouver Technical Secondary, Vancouver
Andrew Warner - Handsworth Secondary School, North Vancouver
Anna Yamaoka - Collingwood School, West Vancouver 
Anthony Hope - Johnston Heights Secondary, Surrey
Brandon Woo - Sir Winston Churchill Secondary, Vancouver
Daniel Lam - Richmond Secondary School, Richmond
Diego Cardona - Sir Winston Churchill Secondary, Vancouver
Emily Zuberec - Vancouver Technical Secondary, Vancouver
Frances Thomas - Sentinel Secondary School, Vancouver
Gunvit Bhatia - David Thompson Secondary, Vancouver
Gurmehar (Mehar) Gill - Semiahmoo Secondary, Surrey
Jake Jude - Pitt Meadows Secondary, Pitt Meadows
Jenna Masuhara - Cariboo Hill Secondary, Burnaby
Kiara Grant - Riverside Secondary, Port Coquitlam
Lily Le - John Oliver Secondary School, Vancouver
Maggie Onedo - Burnaby South Secondary, Burnaby
Natasha Laponce - Lord Byng Secondary, Vancouver
Ola Majzoub - Burnaby Central Secondary, Burnaby
Ryan Lepper - Dr. Charles Best Secondary, Coquitlam
Sarah Kwan - Richmond Secondary School, Richmond
Sebastian Correa - Kitsilano Secondary, Vancouver
Svetlana Chen - Port Moody Secondary, Port Moody
Tara Joshi - North Delta Secondary School, North Delta
Tiffani Rayo - Magee Secondary School, Vancouver
Tiffany Quon - Eric Hamber Secondary School, Vancouver
Youmy Han - Gleneagle Secondary School, Coquitlam
Zak Vescara - Eric Hamber Secondary, Vancouver

On March 27, stories will be heard on CBC Radio One's The Early Edition, On The Coast, North by Northwest and seen on CBC News Vancouver at 5, 5:30 and 6. Stories will also appear on cbc.ca/bc and vancouversun.com throughout the day and in t#cbcnewsdayhe print edition. This year CBC News Network will be mentoring and working with several students to bring their stories to life. The work of those student reporters will appear across the country.
For more information on News Day in B.C. visit the website at www.cbc.ca/bc/newsday and follow on Twitter on #cbcnewsday

- 30 -

Media Contact:
Jennifer Rhyne
CBC English Communications
Twitter: @CBCVancouver

Stay Connected with CBC British Columbia


Programming comments and questions:

Audience Relations: 1-866-306-4636

E-mail: CBC Vancouver Communications