CBC Digital Archives

Saskatchewan Elections: NDP can't climb past Wall

Saskatchewan is an enigma. The same province that elected North America's first socialist government also launched the career of Tory Prime Minister John Diefenbaker. In the past 40 years the winds of political change have swept through Saskatchewan as voters have elected leaders from four different parties into office. Tommy Douglas. Ross Thatcher. Grant Devine. Roy Romanow. These are the political gunslingers that have turned Saskatchewan's provincial elections into prairie showdowns.

media clip
November, 2007: Brad Wall and his upstart Saskatchewan Party win a strong majority in the province, ending 16 years of NDP rule. Premier Lorne Calvert and the NDP consistently lagged in pre-election polls, despite overseeing a huge economic boom in the province. The Saskatchewan Party, formed just 10 years earlier for the express purpose of defeating the NDP, captures 51 per cent of the popular vote, and Wall promises lead Saskatchewan to "the vanguard of the country." 
• The Saskatchewan Liberal party was not very successful before the 1997 formation of the Saskatchewan Party, but it's had even less luck since. The 2007 election marked a second straight shutout for the Liberals as Leader David Karwacki failed to capture his own constituency and the party remained without official party status.
Medium: Television
Program: The National
Broadcast Date: Nov. 7, 2007
Host: Peter Mansbridge
Reporter: Mellissa Fung
Duration: 2:31

Last updated: January 25, 2012

Page consulted on September 10, 2014

All Clips from this Topic

Related Content

1989: Audrey McLaughlin is first woman to lea...

After a dramatic night of balloting, rookie MP Audrey McLaughlin is crowned the new leader of ...