Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
George VanderBurg PC 6,010 60.57% X
Link Byfield WAP 2,145 21.62%
Mike Gray LIB 1,106 11.15%
Leah Redmond NDP 661 6.66%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 65 of 65 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: George VanderBurg (PC)

PC George VanderBurg
LIB Mike Gray
NDP Leah Redmond
WAP Link Byfield
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

This substantial central Alberta riding follows Highway 43 from Onoway to west of Whitecourt, and covers a portion of the Yellowhead Highway west from Evansberg. Communities include Whitecourt, Mayerthorpe and Sangudo.

Agriculture is the biggest employer, followed by oil-and-gas. Household incomes are somewhat lower than the provincial average at $55,394. Fewer than 10 per cent of residents are considered low income. Fewer than 30 per cent hold a college or university degree, the third-lowest rate in Alberta, and 96 per cent speak predominantly English at home, the third-highest rate in the province. More than 68 per cent were born in Alberta, and nine per cent are aboriginal. (2001 census)

Political History:

Conservative George Vanderburg has held this seat for two terms, since he was first elected in 2001 with 7,579 votes — more than Liberal Derril Butler and New Democrat Wade Franko combined. He was re-elected in 2004, garnering double the number of votes as Alberta Alliance candidate David Dow.

Before Vanderburg, Whitecourt-Ste. Anne was represented by one of Alberta's longest-serving MLAs, Peter Trynchy. Trynchy, a Conservative, first won office in 1971 in the old Whitecourt riding. Over the decades he headed various ministries before being dropped from cabinet in 1994 following an ethics scandal. In the 1993 election he'd beaten Liberal Jurgen Preugschas by 1,290 votes, and in 1997 he defeated Sara Lynn Burrough of the Liberals by 2,805 votes. His successor, and the PC incumbent, George VanderBurg, won the 2001 election by more than 4,500 votes over Liberal Derril Butler.

In 2004, voter turnout was 46.8 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »