Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Arno Doerksen PC 7,623 74.55% X
Gerry Hart LIB 991 9.69%
Amanda Shehata WAP 935 9.14%
Chris Bayford GRN 363 3.55%
Brian Stokes NDP 313 3.06%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 71 of 71 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: Lyle Oberg (PC)

PC Arno Doerksen
LIB Gerry Hart
NDP Brian Stokes
WAP Amanda Shehata
GRN Chris Bayford
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

Strathmore-Brooks, in south-central Alberta, is bordered on the northeast by the Red Deer River and on much of the south by the Bow River. In the 2004 redistribution, the Siksika First Nation moved from the riding to Little Bow, and the riding was stretched north to include the communities of Rockyford and Rosebud. Other communities here are Bassano, Brooks, Strathmore, Gleichen, Hussar and Standard.

Agriculture is the main industry in Strathmore-Brooks, with manufacturing in second place. Household incomes, at $60,538, are slightly below the Alberta average, with seven per cent of residents considered low income. About 61 per cent of residents were born in Alberta, while nearly eight per cent are immigrants. Twelve per cent of the population is of German origin. (2001 census)

Political History:

Voters in Strathmore-Brooks have gone with the Conservatives for the past two decades. The incumbent, Finance Minister Lyle Oberg, earned his seat in 1993 by beating Liberal Peter Hansen by 2,979 votes. In 1997, his challenger was Liberal Roger Nelson, who lost by almost 6,000 votes. In 2001, Oberg defeated Liberal Barry Morishita by almost 7,000 votes. And in 2004, Oberg defeated Liberal Carrol Jaques by about 4,738 votes — a 5-1 margin.

Oberg's predecessors in the old Bow Valley riding were the Social Credit party's Fred Mandeville (1971-82) and Tory Tom Musgrove (1982-93).

In 2004, voter turnout was 36.2 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »