Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Evan Berger PC 6,039 64.19% X
Mike Judd LIB 1,501 15.95%
John McLeod WAP 989 10.51%
Phil Burpee NDP 476 5.06%
Bryan Hunt GRN 403 4.28%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 60 of 60 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: David Coutts (PC)

PC Evan Berger
LIB Mike Judd
NDP Phil Burpee
WAP John Mcleod
GRN Bryan Hunt
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

Near Alberta's southwest corner, Livingstone-Macleod runs from the peaks along the B.C. border to Lethbridge's eastern city limits, and from Waterton Lakes National Park in the south to the Nanton area in the north. In the 2004 redistribution the riding lost a small southern section between the Belly and Waterton Rivers, including the communities of Glenwood and Hillspring, and gained what used to be the southern end of Highwood, including Nanton, Stavely and Parkland. Other communities here include Fort Macleod, Claresholm, Crowsnest Pass, Granum and Pincher Creek. The riding is home to the Oldman River Dam and the Peigan First Nation.

Almost 20 per cent of the riding's residents are aboriginal. Almost 74 per cent of residents were born in Alberta, while another eight per cent are immigrants. The average household income is $46,972. Government transfer payments generate one-sixth of the local income - more than in any other riding. Agriculture provides the most jobs, followed by health and social services. (2001 census)

Political History:

Voters in this area have gone Tory for the past three decades. Incumbent and former Government Services Minister David Coutts was elected in 1993 in the old riding of Pincher Creek-Macleod. That year, and in the two elections that followed, his opponent was Liberal Ernie Patterson. Patterson lost by 612 votes in 1993, 1,413 votes in 1997, and by a 2-1 margin in 2001. In 2004, Coutts defeated Liberal Craig Whitehead by 2.5-1 margin.

Prior to 1993, many of the voters in this riding were in the old ridings of Macleod and Pincher Creek-Crowsnest. The former riding elected PC Leroy Fjordbotten from 1979-93; the latter was served by Fred Bradley from 1975-93. Both men spent time in cabinet.

In 2004, voter turnout was 44.9 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »