Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Wayne Drysdale PC 5,247 66.81% X
Augustine Ebinu LIB 1,318 16.78%
Manuela Campbell NDP 843 10.73%
Art Proctor GRN 446 5.68%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 70 of 70 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: Gordon Graydon (PC)

PC Wayne Drysdale
LIB Augustine Ebinu
NDP Manuela Campbell
GRN Art Proctor
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

Grande Prairie-Wapiti is sandwiched between the B.C. border in the west and the Smoky River in the east. Bisecting the riding is the Wapiti River, with agricultural land to the north and wilderness to the south. The southwestern half of the community of Grande Prairie is here, as are Wembley and Beaverlodge.

Retail, construction, and the oil and gas sector are the biggest employers here. Household incomes, at $68,296, are somewhat higher than the provincial norm, while 7.5 per cent of residents are considered low income. Sixty-five per cent of residents were born in-province, while fewer than six per cent are immigrants. About 6.5 per cent of residents are aboriginal.

Political History:

This riding has deep Tory roots. In 2004, incumbent Gordon Graydon racked up 4,346 votes, easily outpolling all four of his opponents combined. Liberal Cibylla Rakestraw was a distant second with 1,681 votes. Graydon had an equally decisive victory in 2001, when he defeated Liberal Ray Stitsen.

Tory Wayne Jacques was the MLA here from 1993-2001, having easily defeated Stitsen in 1997 and edging out Liberal Dwight Logan by 515 votes in 1993. Before that, when the riding was called Grande Prairie, it was represented by Tories Winston Backus (1971-79), Elmer Borstad (1979-82) and Bob Elliott (1982-93).

In 2004, voter turnout was 36.5 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »