Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Diana McQueen PC 5,979 58.48% X
Edwin Erickson GRN 1,970 19.27%
Dean Schmale WAP 1,042 10.19%
Norma Block LIB 847 8.28%
Luann Bannister NDP 386 3.78%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 67 of 67 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: Tony Abbott (PC)

PC Diana McQueen
LIB Norma Block
NDP Luann Bannister
WAP Dean Schmale
GRN Edwin Erickson
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

Drayton Valley-Calmar begins just before Leduc and reaches more than 150 kilometres to the west, past the Brazeau Reservoir. The boundaries are similar to those before the 2004 redistribution, save for the addition of a small segment of the old Ponoka-Rimbey riding, consisting of the Louis Bull First Nation and the community of Hobbema. Other communities in the riding include Drayton Valley, Calmar, Pipestone and Poplar Ridge.

With fewer than 30 per cent of residents holding a college or university degree, this is arguably Alberta's least-educated riding. However, household incomes, at $56,247 on average, aren't far below the provincial norm, and the number of low-income residents is 7.6 per cent. Agriculture is the main employer, followed by the oil and gas sector. Three-quarters of the population was born in Alberta, while six per cent are immigrants. More than eight per cent of residents are aboriginal.

Political History:

Drayton Valley-Calmar has traditionally been a Tory riding. In 2004, the current conservative MLA Tony Abbott, defeated Liberal Laura Haggerty by a vote margin of almost 6-1. His 2001 victory was also decisive, beating Liberal Roger Coles by more than 5,000 votes. However, in October 2007, Abbott lost his nomination in the riding to Drayton Valley mayor Diana McQueen.

From 1993-2001, Tory Tom Thurber held this seat, twice winning easily over Liberal challengers. Thurber had first been elected in 1989, when the riding was called Drayton Valley. He was preceded in that riding by Tories Rusty Zander (1971-79) and Shirley Cripps (1979-89).

In 2004, voter turnout was 46.1 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »