Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Janis Tarchuk PC 4,729 49.37% X
Patricia Robertson LIB 2,751 28.72%
Dan Cunin GRN 1,352 14.11%
Anne Wilson NDP 575 6.00%
Zrinko Amerl IND 172 1.80%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 67 of 67 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: Janis Tarchuk (PC)

PC Janis Tarchuk
LIB Patricia Robertson
NDP Anne Wilson
GRN Dan Cunin
IND Zrinko Amerl
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

This riding reaches from the peaks of Banff National Park in the west to the agricultural land around Cochrane in the east. Though similar to its pre-2004 redistribution shape, the riding now takes in the southwest corner of the former Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills riding and the western part of the former Highwood riding. The easternmost section of the old riding, near the Calgary border, has been carved away. In addition to Cochrane and Banff, communities here include Canmore and Lake Louise.

The biggest employer in Banff-Cochrane is the accommodation and food-service industry, followed by retail sales. The average household earns $65,660 a year, just above the Alberta average, but typical housing prices are the fourth-highest in the province, at $250,186. The number of low income residents is Alberta's second lowest, at five per cent. One in eight residents is an immigrant, while one in 12 is aboriginal. Fewer than 45 per cent of residents were born in Alberta, which is low among rural ridings.

Political History:

Banff-Cochrane has been Conservative since 1971. Incumbent Janis Tarchuk has held this seat for a decade, since she won her seat in 1997 by a 4,000-vote margin over Liberal Judy Stewart. In 2001, Tarchuk enjoyed a 7,000-vote margin over the Liberal's Norman Kent. In 2004, Tarchuk won with 4,238 votes to beat Ian McDougall's 1,648.

Many of Tarchuk's Tory predecessors have served in cabinet, including Clarence Copithorne (1971-75), Greg Stevens (1979-89) and Brian Evans (1989-97).

In 2004, voter turnout was 38.0 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »