Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Carl Benito PC 4,752 43.87% X
Weslyn Mather LIB 3,996 36.89%
Christina Gray NDP 1,474 13.61%
Robert Leddy WAP 320 2.95%
David Hrushka GRN 290 2.68%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 73 of 73 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: Weslyn Mather (LIB)

PC Carl Benito
LIB Weslyn Mather
NDP Christina Gray
WAP Robert Leddy
GRN David Hrushka
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

This southeast Edmonton riding is bordered on the north and east by Whitemud Drive and Mill Creek, on the south by 23rd, 28th and 34th Avenues, and on the west by Gateway Boulevard. In the 2004 redistribution, the riding expanded significantly east, taking in an area formerly in the south of Edmonton-Mill Creek. A smaller area in the southwest of the riding was lost to Edmonton-Ellerslie.

In this riding, almost 28 per cent of residents are immigrants. Muslims, Sikhs, Hindus and Buddhists make up more than 15 per cent of the population. Over half the residents — 52.5 per cent — were born in Alberta. The average household income of $57,119 is somewhat under the provincial average, and almost one in five people are considered low income. Retail and manufacturing provide the most jobs. Single-parent families, at 14.5 per cent, are more common here than in all but one other riding in the province.

Political History:

In its 25-year existence, this riding has elected Conservative, New Democrat and Liberal MLAs, although the Liberals have reigned in this territory for the last four elections.

In 2004, incumbent Liberal Weslyn Mather won the seat handily after capturing 5,014 votes to Conservative Naresh Bhardwaj's 2,989 votes. Before Mather, Liberal Don Massey was MLA for more than a decade until he retired in 2004. Since Massey was first elected in 1993, he fended off Tory opponents in three elections, though each win was progressively narrower. In 1993, Massey's margin was 2,774 votes, over Bill Pidruchney. Four years later, Ziad Jaber lost by 2,120 votes. Then, in 2001, Carl Benito came within 518 votes. Massey's predecessor was a New Democrat, Gerry Gibeault, who served here from 1986-93. Tory Milt Pahl was the MLA for Edmonton-Mill Woods from 1979-86.

In 2004, voter turnout was 45 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »