Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Raj Sherman PC 6,176 54.83% X
Debbie Cavaliere LIB 3,424 30.40%
Pascal Ryffel NDP 1,010 8.97%
Amanda Doyle GRN 347 3.08%
Richard Guyon WAP 307 2.73%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 70 of 70 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: Maurice Tougas (LIB)

PC Raj Sherman
LIB Debbie Cavaliere
NDP Pascal Ryffel
WAP Richard Guyon
GRN Amanda Doyle
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

This west-central Edmonton riding is bordered on the west by the city limits, on the north by Stony Plain Road, on the east mostly by 158th, 159th and 163rd Streets and on the south by Whitemud Drive. In the 2004 redistribution, the riding gained a small area in the east from Edmonton-Glenora and lost the neighbourhoods directly south of there to Edmonton-Riverview.

Retail provides the most jobs here, followed by the accommodation and food-service industry. The average household income, at $57,853, is somewhat below the Alberta average, and there's a higher-than-average number of low-income residents at 13.6 per cent. Twenty-two per cent of people are immigrants, while 54 per cent were born in Alberta.

Political History:

Over the past three decades, Edmonton-Meadowlark has been a Liberal versus Conservative battleground. In 2004, Liberal Maurice Tougas took the riding from Tory incumbent Bob Maskell — edging him out with a 193-vote lead.

Maskell won his seat in 2001 by upsetting MLA Karen Leibovici, a Liberal, by a 444-vote margin. Leibovici had first won here in 1993 with a 3,237-vote victory over Tory Laurier Pushor. She beat Pushor again, this time by 1,375 votes, in 1996. From 1971-86, Tory Gerry Amerongen held the seat. Then-Liberal leader Grant Mitchell ended Amerongen's reign in 1986 and was re-elected in 1989.

In 2004, voter turnout was 45.3 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »