Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Naresh Bhardwaj PC 4,573 41.87% X
Bharat Agnihotri LIB 3,601 32.97%
Marilyn Assheton-Smith NDP 1,881 17.22%
Krista Leddy WAP 470 4.30%
Paul Boos GRN 335 3.07%
Cheryl Ullah SC 63 0.58%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 69 of 69 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: Bharat Agnihotri (LIB)

PC Naresh Bhardwaj
LIB Bharat Agnihotri
NDP Marilyn Assheton-Smith
WAP Krista Leddy
GRN Paul Boos
SC Cheryl Ullah
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

This southeast Edmonton riding is bordered on the south and east by the city limits, on the west by the CNR line and Gateway Boulevard, and on the north largely by 34th, 28th and 23rd Avenues. In the 2004 redistribution, the riding gained area from both Edmonton-Mill Woods and Edmonton-Mill Creek.

While 56 per cent of Edmonton-Ellerslie residents are Alberta-born, another 24 per cent are immigrants. Seven per cent were born in India and 7.2 per cent are Sikhs. Retail and manufacturing are the major employers here, contributing to an average household income of $62,145 a year, just under the provincial average. The number of low income homes is about one in seven.

Political History:

Since its creation in 1993, this seat has been held by Liberal Debby Carlson. She was elected in 1993 by 3,322 votes over a New Democrat. In 1997 she defeated Tory Jasbeer Singh by a similar margin. Her 2001 victory was closer, with Carlson getting 272 votes more than PC challenger Sukhi Randhawa. The Edmonton-Ellerslie seat became vacant in 2004 when Carlson resigned to run unsuccessfully against Conservative MP Rahim Jaffer. Prior to 1993, many of the voters in Edmonton-Ellerslie were part of the old Edmonton-Mill Woods riding, represented by Tory Milt Pahl (1979-86) and the NDP's Gerry Gibeault (1986-93).

In 2004, voter turnout was 43.4 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »