Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
David Swann LIB 7,087 51.52% X
Leah Lawrence PC 4,250 30.89%
Cory Morgan WAP 892 6.48%
Juliet Burgess GRN 866 6.29%
John Donovan NDP 662 4.81%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 82 of 82 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: David Swann (LIB)

PC Leah Lawrence
LIB David Swann
NDP John Donovan
WAP Cory Morgan
GRN Juliet Burgess
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

This central Calgary riding runs along the north bank of the Bow River. It's bordered on the north by 16th Avenue and on the east by the Deerfoot Trail. In the 2004 redistribution, the riding expanded west to take in areas formerly part of the Calgary-Bow riding. Some areas formerly in the north of Calgary-Mountain View riding are now in Calgary-North Hill. With 41,690 residents, this is Alberta's second-most populous riding.

Professional work, along with health care and social services, are the main employers in Calgary-Mountain View, where the average household earns $63,566 a year — just under Alberta's average. In the riding, 12.4 per cent of residents are low income, even though 68 per cent of adults hold a post-secondary degree. About one in six residents is an immigrant, while 43 per cent of residents were born in the province.

Political History:

Unlike many Calgary ridings, Calgary-Mountain View has been held by several different parties since its creation in 1971. The incumbent, Liberal David Swann, won the seat in 2004 when he beat out long-time MLA Conservative Mark Hlady. In 1993, Hlady beat two-term NDP incumbent Bob Hawkesworth by 2,513 votes and held on to the riding for about a decade. In 1997, Hlady fended off Liberal Patricia Ennis by more than 2,000 votes, and in 2001 he defeated Liberal Jennifer Spencer by almost 4,000 votes. Prior to Hlady and Hawkesworth, Calgary-Mountain View was held by the Social Credit Party's Albert Ludwig (1971-75), the Tories' Stan Kushner (1975-82) and Bud Zip (1982-86).

In 2004, voter turnout was 49.5 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »