Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Darshan Kang LIB 4,263 44.28% X
Shiraz Shariff PC 4,165 43.26%
Ina Given WAP 537 5.58%
Heather Brocklesby GRN 388 4.03%
Preet Sihota NDP 275 2.86%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 72 of 72 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: Shiraz Shariff (PC)

PC Shiraz Shariff
LIB Darshan Kang
NDP Preet Sihota
WAP Ina Given
GRN Heather Brocklesby
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

This northeast Calgary riding is bordered to the north and east by the city limits, to the south by McKnight Boulevard and 32nd Avenue, and to the west by the Deerfoot Trail. In the 2004 redistribution, the riding lost some of its southern area to Calgary-Cross.

In this riding, 33.1 per cent of residents are immigrants, the second-highest percentage in the province. Sixty-three per cent of residents speak English at home, the lowest percentage in the province. And 16.2 per cent of residents are considered low income. Manufacturing is the biggest business here, with retail in second place. Average household incomes, at $61,918, are just under the provincial average. More than nine per cent of residents were born in India, more than four per cent in the Philippines, and 41 per cent in Alberta.

Political History:

Formed in 1971, this riding has voted Conservative for decades, since 1975. The incumbent, Shiraz Shariff, won office in a 1995 byelection, beating the Liberal candidate by 516 votes. Shariff won by more than 2,000 votes in 1997, and by nearly 4,500 in 2001, over Liberal John Phillips. However, the margin narrowed significantly in 2004 when Shariff won by just 248 votes over Liberal Darshan S. Kang. Shariff's predecessor, Harry Sohal, was elected in 1993 and died in office. PCs Andy Little and Stan Nelson easily held this riding from 1975-93.

In 2004, voter turnout was 33.9 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »