Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Kent Hehr LIB 4,584 48.92% X
Sean Chu PC 3,628 38.72%
Stephen Ricketts GRN 611 6.52%
Robert Lawrence NDP 387 4.13%
Antoni Grochowski SC 160 1.71%
Updated: Mar. 4, 2008 12:02 MST 69 of 69 polls reporting
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Alberta. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


Current MLA: Harvey Cenaiko (PC)

PC Sean Chu
LIB Kent Hehr
NDP Robert Lawrence
GRN Stephen Ricketts
SC Antoni (Tony) Grochowski
Riding Talk
Riding Profile:

This central Calgary riding is bordered on the north by the Bow River, on the east by the Elbow River, on the south mostly by 17th Avenue, and on the west by 45th and 37th Streets. In the 2004 redistribution, the riding expanded east to take in voters formerly residing in Calgary-Fort.

Professional services and the food and accommodation industry are the biggest employers here. The average household income — $48,136 — is well under the Alberta average, and 20.7 per cent of families are low income. Calgary-Buffalo has more immigrants, at 30.2 per cent, than all but three other Alberta ridings. In the riding, 30.7 per cent of residents were born in the province. About five per cent of residents are Muslim.

Political History:

In 2004, Conservative Harvey Cenaiko was elected to his second term as MLA when he garnered 3,365 votes to Liberal Terry Taylor's 2,815. When Cenaiko won this seat in 2001 — with 5,582 votes to Liberal Brian Edy's 4,135 — the victory ended 15 years of Liberal dominance here. Prior to Cenaiko's win, the seat had been held by Liberal Gary Dickson, who came to office in a 1992 byelection. Dickson's subsequent wins, in 1993 and 1997, were each by margins of fewer than 600 votes. From 1986-92, Liberal Sheldon Chumir served here. He died in office, prompting the byelection. Before that, the Tories typically won this seat by wide margins.

In 2004, voter turnout was 31.5 per cent.

2003 Results Interactive Map

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 72 0 72 52.66%
LIB 9 0 9 26.37%
NDP 2 0 2 8.52%
WAP 0 0 0 6.77%
GRN 0 0 0 4.58%
OTH 0 0 0 1.11%
  • Updated: Mar 4, 2008, 12:02 MST

Riding Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Alberta Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »