HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Alberta Votes 2004

Main > Ridings  


Results are not official until Elections Alberta has reviewed the results, which usually takes several days.
Candidate Party Vote Count Elected
Gene Zwozdesky PC 5071 X
Aman Gill LIB 4286
Nathan Taylor NDP 1709
Robert J. Alford AAP 523
Eric Stieglitz GRN 386
Cameron Johnson IND 72
 Last Update:  November 23, 1:25:04 PM MST 71 of 71 polls reporting


2004 Candidates:
Robert J. Alford (Alberta Alliance)
Aman Gill (Liberal)
Cameron Johnson (Independent)
Eric Stieglitz (Green Party)
Nathan Taylor (NDP)
Gene Zwozdesky (PC)

Zoom in on Edmonton-Mill Creek

Maps from Elections Alberta
will open in a new window.

Riding Profile:
This southeast Edmonton riding is bordered on the west by the city limits, on the south by Mill Creek and Whitemud Drive, on the west mostly by 103rd Street, and on the north, in part, by Whyte Avenue, 90th Avenue and the city limits. In the 2004 redistribution the riding gained a small area in the northwest from Edmonton-Strathcona and lost a larger southern area to Edmonton-Mill Woods.

With an average household income of $61,122, Edmonton-Mill Creek residents earn just under the provincial average, largely in manufacturing jobs and retail work. About 10.5 per cent of residents are low income. Almost 21 per cent are immigrants, while 57 per cent were born in Alberta.

Political History:
This riding has had a diverse political history, having elected Conservative, Liberal and New Democrat MLAs since its founding - as Edmonton-Avonmore - in 1971. Incumbent and Community Development Minister Gene Zwozdesky was elected as a Liberal in 1993, defeating Tory hopefuls in that election and in 1997. Then, in July of 1998, following a dispute with his party over fiscal policy, Zwozdesky quit the Liberals and sat as an independent. A month later he joined the Tories, and in 2001 he easily defeated Liberal Bharat Agnihotri, 8,085 votes to 4,229. From 1971-86 this riding was represented by Horst Schmid, a Tory who held a variety of cabinet posts. In 1986, Schmid was lost, by 93 votes, to New Democrat Marie Laing, who held office until 1993, when she ran third to Zwozdesky and Tory Ken Alyluia.

In 2001, voter turnout was 55.4 per cent.





 Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
PC 61 0 61 47.07%
LIB 17 0 17 29.05%
NDP 4 0 4 9.79%
AAP 1 0 1 9.10%
GRN 0 0 0 2.75%
SC 0 0 0 1.27%
OTH 0 0 0 .97%
 Last Update November 23, 1:05:04 PM MST

+Other Ridings
  To jump to another riding, use the
  pulldown menu below:

Media Election Video and Audio
Archives of election video and audio from CBC Radio and CBC Television.
more »

Your View Your View
If you have something to say, this is the place say it. Throughout the election campaign we’ll be highlighting letters from people about the candidates, issues and coverage.
more »


Jobs | Contact Us | Help
Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2004